Renaissance - Live At The Capitol Theater - June 18 1978 (Clcb) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Can You Hear Me
2. Carpet of the Sun
3. Things I Don't Understand
4. Northern Lights
5. Mother Russia
6. Day of the Dreamer
7. Midas Man
8. The Vultures Fly High
9. Running Hard
10. A Song for All Seasons
11. Prologue
12. Ashes Are Burning

More Info:

The band was founded by vocalist Keith Relf and drummer Jim McCarty, formerly of the Yardbirds; along with John Hawken, Louis Cennamo and Relf's sister Jane. They intended to put "something together with more of a classical influence". Renaissance released their self-titled debut album in 1969, but fell apart during the sessions for their follow-up, Illusion (1971). New musicians were brought in to complete the record, and Renaissance was kept active through a period of fluctuating personnel until none of the original lineup remained, though McCarty continued providing compositions for the band to record for several more years. By 1972, a stable lineup consisting of Annie Haslam, Michael Dunford, John Tout, Jon Camp, and Terry Sullivan solidified. They were assisted with lyrics on many songs from Cornish poet Betty Thatcher-Newsinger. This live recording was captured at their creative peak in 1978 at the historic Capitol Theater in Passaic, New Jersey and is more than 2 hours long.