Trog'low - Midnight Calisthenics | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Soul Vibes Summit
2. Ballin' '72
3. Water Bunny
4. Sonny Stomp 2
5. Hepcats In Heat
6. Summer Squall
7. Ossanha Flip
8. Quiet Up
9. Bass Du Jour 1
10. Ain't Nothin' 1
11. Front'n Rugged 1
12. Dukish Bounce 1
13. Byrd Song 1
14. Always Be

More Info:

Cold Busted has reached into the funky depths to discover trog'low and his fantastic new album Midnight Calisthenics. Based in Toronto, trog'low has previously appeared on Cold Busted's IWYMI series as well as his well-received debut album Mellow Feats. He's gained attention with a deft combination of the old timey and fresh aesthetics, as boom-bap beats and deep jazz intermingle. Trog'low's refusal to follow production fads and trends gives his music a classic, timeless feel - with Midnight Calisthenics, he's delivered an album that'll linger.  The opening "Soul Vibes Summit" sets the scene. The time-warped sounds of an audience applauding a jazz combo are joined by phat old school rhythms and delicious vibraphone riffs. "Ballin' '72" keeps up the crucial jazz vibe, adding hardy horns and cool guitar chords. A sublime bossa nova feel is injected into "Hepcats In Heat," imagining a surf-side retreat with classy jazzbos sipping martinis. And "Ossanha Flip" adds loungey latin elements, it's low-slung groove and chopped piano ready to accompany sexy moves. That's just a taste what Midnight Calisthenics has to offer within it's 14 tracks.