Wadada Leo Smith - String Quartets Nos. 1-12 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

String Quartets Nos. 1-12
Artist: Wadada Leo Smith
Format: CD


Label: Tum Records
Rel. Date: 06/17/2022
UPC: 6430015288058

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. String Quartet No. 1 (1965-1982)
2. Movement 1 "Ulysses Simpson Kay (1917-1995)"
3. Movement 2 "Thomas Jefferson Anderson, Jr. (1928-)"
4. Movement 3 "Hale Smith (1925-2009)"
5. Movement 4 "George Theophilus Walker (1922-2018)"
6. String Quartet No. 2 (1969-1980)
7. String Quartet No. 3 "Black Church: A First World Gathering of the Spirit" (1995)
8. Movement 1
9. Movement 2
10. String Quartet No. 4 (1987-2001)
11. Movement 1
12. Movement 2
13. Movement 3
14. Movement 4
15. Movement 5
16. String Quartet No. 5 "In the Diaspora - Earthquakes and Sunrise
17. Missions" (2005)
18. String Quartet No. 6 "Taif: Prayer in the Garden of the Hijaz" (2007)
19. String Quartet No. 7 "Ten Thousand Ceveus Peruvianus Amemevical" (2011
20. String Quartet No. 8 "Opuntia Humifusa" (2011)
21. String Quartet No. 9 (2001-2015)
22. Movement 1 Ma Rainey
23. Movement 2 Marian Anderson
24. String Quartet No. 10 "Angela Davis: Into the Morning Sunlight" (2007-2016)
25. String Quartet No. 11 (1975-2019)
26. Movement 1 "Shaikh Cerno Boka"
27. Movement 2 "Louis Armstrong (1901-1971)"
28. Movement 3 "Sarah Bell Brown-Smith (1920-1994)"
29. Movement 4 "Kashala Kiom Smith"
30. Movement 5 "At the Heart's Core, Knowledge (For UCLA Music Library)"
31. String Quartet No. 11 (1975-2019)
32. Movement 6 "Sarhanna Kabell Smith"
33. Movement 7 "Bessie Smith (1894-1937)"
34. Movement 8 "Alvin Singleton"
35. Movement 9 "Red Autumn's Gold (For Lucius G. Smith)"
36. String Quartet No. 12 (2016-2018)
37. Movement 1 "Billie Holiday (1915-1959)"
38. Pacifica

More Info:

(7-CD set) String Quartets Nos. 1-12 focus on Wadada Leo Smith as a composer for strings. Smith began work on his first string quartet in 1965 and has composed string quartets and other works for strings throughout his career. Smith has also featured strings on a number of his other major works, including Ten Freedom Summers in 2011, Occupy The World in 2012 (TUM CD 037-2) and Rosa Parks: Pure Love in 2016/17 (TUM CD 057).String Quartets Nos. 1-12 represent a magnificent addition not only to Smith's own recorded output but also to the literature for modern string quartet music in general. Compositions vary from relatively brief, one-part quartets of highly evocative and at times meditative soundscapes to the groundbreaking "String Quartet No. 11" that fills two discs with it's nine movements. String Quartets Nos. 1-12 were recorded by the RedKoral Quartet. The group was brought together by Smith during his tenure at CalArts and was featured on the recording of Ten Freedom Summers more than a decade ago and again on Rosa Parks: Pure Love as well as on numerous live performances of Smith's string quartets and other works over the past decade. In addition, featured soloists on the recording include harpist Alison Bjorkedal ("String Quartet No. 4"), pianist Anthony Davis ("String Quartet No. 6"), percussionist Lynn Vartan ("String Quartet No. 6"), guitarist Stuart Fox ("String Quartet No. 7") and voice artist Thomas Buckner ("String Quartet No. 8") as well as Wadada Leo Smith himself on trumpet ("String Quartet No. 6" and "String Quartet No. 8").