Ragnar Johnson and Jessica Mayer - Spirit Cry Flutes and Bamboo Jews Harps from Papua New Guinea: Eastern Highlands and Madang [2LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Habaio
2. Naio
3. Kureh
4. Uko
5. Tourori
6. Anno
7. Kureh 2
8. Pwahabai
9. Ommura Iyavati CD2: Uko and Queh-Queh
10. Vuvira Ihi
11. Vuvira
12. Ora-Ihi
13. Suwaira Ihi
14. Nama
15. Mo-Mo
16. Waudang
17. Maner 1
18. Maner 2
19. Siam 1
20. Siam 2
21. Guna

More Info:

The third part of Ideologic Organ Music’s trilogy together with Dr. Ragnar Johnson and Jessica Mayer’s anthropological field recordings of sacred flute music from the island of Papua New Guinea in the 1970s. A book titled A Papua New Guinea Recording Journey consisting of Dr. Johnson’s field notes from the entire research period will be published simultaneously with this music release. “The recording of a male initiation ceremony with sacred flutes, bullroarers and ‘crying baby’ leaves was only possible after fifteen months residence during anthropological research. From the same Ommura villages in the Eastern Highlands there are bamboo jews harps, yam fertility flutes and singing. Nama (‘bird’) sacred flutes were recorded in a Gahuku Gama village in the town of Goroka. There are Mo-mo bamboo resonating tubes and singing from the Finisterre Range of Madang. From the Ramu Coast region of Madang there are: Waudang flutes, garamut slit gongs and singing from Manam Island, Maner flutes from Awar village and Siam and Guna flutes and garamuts from Nubia Sissimungum Village. These previously unreleased recordings were made in 1976 and 1979.” –Ragnar Johnson, London 2021