Suzanne Langille & Neel Murgai - Come When The Raven Calls [LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Invocation
2. Mamasita
3. The Eagle
4. Strong and Foolish Heart
5. A Reckoning
6. Bury Myself Where I Stand
7. End of My Days
8. Let the Darkness Fall
9. If You Can Wake

More Info:

Come When The Raven Calls is the second album by Suzanne Langille and Neel Murgai after more than two decades performing together. Langille fuses the rawness of Ameri- can spiritual blues with Murgai’s trance-like percussion and multi-note vocal overtones. The duo are unmatched in their timeless approach to song, a structure they summon from a tinder of melody or thundering charge of the Persian daf. A lyricist as well as vocalist, Langille is devoted to the spo- ken word. She pulls the listener into a world of ecstatic sor- row and rage that leaves them transformed as a witness to survival. These nine songs are testimonies to death, sorrow and loss. Yet in “Bury Myself Where I Stand,” a song written by Langille’s sister, the late blues singer Laurette Langille, she summons defiance and freedom. Langille’s first recordings were on a string of rare, self-re- leased 1980s LPs with guitarist Loren Connors. Later, she fronted Haunted House, the defunct downtown ‘blues rock’ improv-combo with Murgai and Connors. Murgai is a multi- instrumental performer, composer and co-founder of the Brooklyn Raga Massive, a raga inspired musician’s collec- tive. Limited edition of 300 copies, comes with lyric sheet.