Jason Sharp - Turning Centre Of A Still World [180 Gram] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Intro
2. Unwinding Surrender
3. Velocity Of Being
4. Blossoming Rest
5. Upwelling Hope
6. Humility Of Pain
7. Everything Is Waiting For You
8. Outro

More Info:

Electroacoustic composer and saxophonist Jason Sharp presents his third album on Constellation and first purely solo recording. Following two acclaimed albums composed around particular collaborators and guest players, Sharp conceived The Turning Centre Of A Still World as an interplay strictly bounded by his own body, his acoustic instrument, and his bespoke electronic rig. The result is Sharp's most lucid, poignant, integral work to date - a singular sonic exploration of human/machine calibration, interaction, expression and biofeedback. Using saxophones, foot-controlled bass pedals, and his own pulse - patched through a heart monitor routed to various signal paths that trigger modular synthesizers and samplers - Sharp paints harmolodic waves of glistening synthesis, pink noise and digitalia. Electronic Sound has called Sharp's work "mesmerizing, like Stars Of The Lid pursuing the Sun Ra Arkestra into an electricity substation." His sound palette evokes fellow-travelers like Fennesz, Klaus Schulze, Tim Hecker, Ben Frost and Colin Stetson. This immersive, intensive, widescreen electronic album could sit comfortably as a stellar contribution to the space/sci-fi/synth soundtrack genre. But this is ultimately deeper, grittier, earthier stuff - pulsing with terrestrial granularity, charting subterranean geographies of the heart and soul. Deluxe 180gram vinyl includes four 12"x12" art prints of analog film stills by renowned experimental filmmaker Daïchi Saïto.