Cold Gawd - I'll Drown On This Earth | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Gorgeous
2. Portland
3. All My Life, My Heart Has Yearned for a Thing I Cannot Name
4. Duchamp Is My Lawyer
5. Malibu Beach House
6. Tappan
7. Nudism
8. Bird in Space

More Info:

Southern California shoegaze squad Cold Gawd return to Dais for their second and most supreme suite yet of crushing downer bliss: 'I'll Drown On This Earth'. From the defiant scream that kicks off opening cut "Gorgeous," the album rips in what singer and principal songwriter Matthew Wainwright describes as "go for it" mode: holding back nothing, wasting no time. Although the bulk of the songs were written in 2022, recording sessions weren't booked until March of 2024, which allowed ample time to refine and distill the music's hooks, heaviness, and haze. The result is a perfect storm of distortion and dream pop, cracked love songs cloaked in swooning walls of noise.Recorded at Paradise Recorders in Anaheim, California with Colin Knight (of post-punk unit Object of Affection), Wainwright tracked the strings while Cameron Fonacier handled drums. The process was efficient and effective, sharpened by years of performance. Anthemic headbangers like "Portland," "All My Life, My Heart Has Yearned For A Thing I Cannot Name," and "Malibu Beach House" sound as dynamic as they do dialed-in, soaked into the bones of the players. The lyrics came last, written by Wainwright a week before recording. Moods of surreality ("I can hear the blood in my fingers / nothing tunes out / the world's too loud"), infatuation ("I will follow / everywhere you go / any way to feel / how you glow"), and melancholy ("God kept me around / for no good reason") flicker and fade within a fog of memory and reverb.As on 2022's 'God Get Me The Fuck Out Of Here', Cold Gawd's contemporary vision of shoegaze manifests intriguingly in outlier moments, like the hushed, whirlpool reverie of "Tappan," or the vaporous, slow-grind downtempo of "Nudism" (complete with regal piano outro). Theirs is a muse as vivid as it is varied, from Loveless, to Drake, post-hardcore and Beach House. Drown evocatively captures the expanding canon of Cold Gawd, dense with riffs and raptures, escape and revelation, channeled from stacked amps and hidden powers: "Give praise / to whatever / I got time for / hallelujah."