TR/ST - Performance - Yellow [Colored Vinyl] [Clear Vinyl] (Ylw) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Soon
2. Regret
3. All At Once
4. The Shore
5. Boys Of LA
6. Clowned
7. Dark Day
8. Performance
9. Warp

More Info:

The 4th?full-length studio album by?Robert Alfons aka TR/ST (fka Trust),?'Performance,' sinks even further into the nasty synth-pop psychodrama that the project has pioneered and, finally, perfected across over a decade of evolution. Recorded in Los Angeles, the songs seethe with dread, lust, reckoning, and abandon, backlit by the light pollution of a thousand dead end city streets. Alfons co-produced the collection with versatile composer and producer Nightfeelings, achieving a thick, smoky balance of eerie synths, fog machine low end, and bruised, crooning voice. The title alludes to a friend's offhand remark about Alfons' intrinsically performative nature. The opener, "Soon," swells to life with hymnal electronics before kicking through the dance floor with a huge new wave hook, spiked with caustic kiss-off lyrics ("Asleep I still say it aloud / Scared stiff it's all around / We never did call it off, now our organs dried / Scared stiff to stone, you liar"). The music moves between beauty and bitterness, anthem and anguish, the sound of melancholia gone massive. On track after track, Alfons wields pop dynamics and brooding production wizardry like a weapon, spiraling through a roll call of singles - "All At Once," "The Shore," "Dark Day," "Boys of LA." Throughout, there's a sense of emotional turmoil elevated to strange heights, stained by guilt and ghosts and the memory of those wronged and those still unforgiven. As a world unto itself, 'Performance'?is persuasive, immersive, and intoxicating, at the threshold of stirring and disturbing. Alfons' voice is the anchor in the storm, singing a collage of impressions and confessions with a smeared, stream of consciousness logic. He's both observer and instigator, performer and playwright, liberated by the stage and the night: "Now we see the rotten mind / It's eye to eye and mysteries/ Sail your boat for shore / I sit by the window waiting for it."