John Work Iii Recording Black Culture - John Work Iii: Recording Black Culture | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Poor Black Sheep - Frank Patterson/Nathan Frazier
2. Texas Traveller - Frank Patterson/Nathan Frazier
3. Daniel Saw the Stone - Holloway High School Quartet
4. Shine on Me - Unnamed Quartet
5. I Am His, He Is Mine - Female Group/Zema Hill's Church
6. Walk Around in Dry Bones - The Fairfield Four
7. If I Had My Way - Heavenly Gate Quartet
8. My Captain's Angry - Al Washington
9. Egypt Land - Unamed Leader & Congregation
10. Since I Laid My Burden Down - Unamed Leader & Congregation
11. Amazing Grace - Elder Gray & the Pulaski Prayer Society
12. Ain't Gonna Drink No Mo' - Joe Holmes
13. Interview with Muddy Waters - John Work
14. Great God Attend - Houston County Singing Convention



More Info:

This Grammy winning recording presents the field recordings of African American musicians made by Fisk University professor, musician and folklorist, John Work III. The fourteen recordings included in this CD represent the variety of African American folksong of particular interest to Professor Work. They also, for the most part, are recordings kept in his personal library. Most of the music presented here - blues, string bands, gospel and shape note singing - have been unheard until the release of this CD. Also included in the package is Work's interview with blues legend, McKinley "Muddy Waters" Morganfield made in 1941 during the Fisk University/Library of Congress Coahoma County study. This recording is a companion to the book, Lost Delta Found, by Bruce Nemerov and Robert Gordon. The CD package includes rare photographs and extensive notes about the music and musicians.