Marc Barreca - Recordings Of Failing Light | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Recordings Of Failing Light
Artist: Marc Barreca
Format: CD


Label: Palace of Lights
Rel. Date: 09/30/2022
UPC: 700261490960

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Candela
2. Colorburst
3. Radiolucent
4. Depth of Field
5. Incidental Light
6. Colorburst 2
7. Defocus
8. Transparent
9. Radiograph
10. Focal Plane
11. Grattage
12. Frottage
13. Loping Shadows
14. Gamma Correction
15. Flutter
16. Luminance
17. Retained Image
18. False Image
19. Ghost Image
20. Image Bloom

More Info:

Marc Barreca's Recordings Of Failing Light explores the subatomic matter of ordinary instrument sounds. Pianos, glass percussion, guitars, and feedback are atomized through sampling and granular processing in search of the audio equivalent of a negative image. In the end, these granular elements became the beds and pads for elaborate extrapolations of deconstructed melodic, rhythmic, patterned, and forward-looking sound-and with the addition of analog sequencer and arpeggiator based textures, some tracks reach back to Barreca's days with Young Scientist. Perhaps as an acknowledgment of the aesthetic guiding Jon Hassell's Seeing Through Sound, Barreca's work here finds it's origin in images. The gradations and modulation of light and dark in radiographs, rayograms, negatives, old black and white and sepia-tone photos all impart and inform a shaping influence to the waveforms and amplitudes of sound found in these twenty pieces.Heavily layered, simultaneously dense and expansive, Recordings Of Failing Light is the result of experiments conducted in a sonic version of the Hadron Collider.Marc Barreca has been creating and performing electronic music since the mid-1970s. Recordings Of Failing Light is his eleventh solo album for PoL. His 1980 album, Twilight, reissued on vinyl in 2018, was one of the earliest releases on PoL. The Empty Bridge is his tenth solo album for the label. Recent releases include From The Gray And The Green (2019), Shadow Aesthetics (2018), and four collaborations with K. Leimer and two with Three Point Circle. Reissues include work on the acclaimed VOD box set American Cassette Culture, the Cherry Red compilation of seminal U.S. electronic music and the 1983 cassette, Music Works For Industry, now on vinyl. His work is also included in the Collection of The British Library.