Jay Dee (A.K.A. J Dilla) - The Diary [RSD 2016] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. The Introduction
2. The Anthem
3. Fight Club
4. The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds)
5. The Shining Pt. 2 (Ice)
6. Trucks
7. Gangsta Boogie
8. Drive Me Wild
9. Give Them What They Want
10. The Creep (The O)
11. The Ex
12. So Far
13. Fuck The Police
14. The Diary
15. The Sickness
16. The Doe

More Info:

PayJay Productions, Inc. was the company James Dewitt “J Dilla” Yancey founded in 2001 to house his production company and his publishing company. The Estate of James Yancey has revived PayJay as a functioning imprint, and announced the release of J Dilla’s long lost vocal album, The Diary. The tracks come straight from multi-track masters found on 2-inch tape shortly after Dilla’s passing in 2006. Many were mixed by Dilla himself. Those that weren't have been mixed by engineer Dave Cooley, who worked extensively with Dilla during his years in Los Angeles. Using Dilla’s original demo mixes as his guide, Cooley attempted to finalize Dilla’s vision for these tracks, while keeping all of the elements that Dilla had in place in his original demos present. The Diary is an album of vocal performances recorded between in the early 2000s over production by the likes of Madlib, Pete Rock, Nottz, House Shoes, Karriem Riggins and others. The Record Store Day vinyl issue of The Diary includes a special 7” pressing of "The Ex" that will only be found on the RSD issue of the LP.

A Side 1. The Introduction 2. The Anthem (feat. Frank & Dank) 3. Fight Club (feat. Nottz & Boogie)  4. The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds) (feat. Kenny Wray)  5. The Shining Pt. 2 (Ice)  6. Trucks  7. Gangsta Boogie (feat. Snoop & Kokane)  B Side  8. Drive Me Wild  9. Give Them What They Want  10. The Creep (The O) 11. The Ex (feat. Bilal) 12. So Far  13. Fuck The Police  14. The Diary