Count Basie - Basie Swings The Blues [Digipak] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Count Basie - Basie Swings The Blues [Digipak]
Basie Swings The Blues [Digipak]
Artist: Count Basie
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 10/20/2023
UPC: 708857333127

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Let's Have A Good Time - Featuring Mr. Sipp
2. Boogie In The Dark - Featuring Bobby Rush
3. I'm A Woman - Featuring Buddy Guy, Shemekia Copeland, ; Charlie Musselwhite
4. Down Home Blues - Featuring Keb' Mo' ; Lauren Mitchell
5. Stormy Monday - Featuring Bettye LaVette
6. The Midnight Hour - Featuring Robert Cray
7. Dirty Mississippi Blues - Featuring Mr. Sipp
8. The Patton Basie Shuffle
9. Evil Gal Blues - Featuring Ledisi
10. Look What You've Done - Featuring Jamie Davis
11. Just For A Thrill - Featuring Carmen Bradford
12. Rock Candy - Featuring George Benson

More Info:

Led by musical director Scotty Barnhart, the Count Basie Orchestra keeps Basie's unmistakable style alive and thriving around the world. In the great traction of the Basie Swings albums comes this explosive album of collaborations with some of the greatest living blues and jazz artists, Basie Swings The Blues. In preparation for these sessions, Barnhart took a pilgrimage to the Mississippi Delta to immerse himself in the land where blues began. The resulting album is joyful mix of downhome blues with the deep swing and sophistication that only The Count Basie Orchestra can provide. As Count Basie famously once said, "our blues will make your blues go away." Produced by Barnhart along with Grammy-winning producer John Burk (Ray Charles Genius Love Company), and Grammy-winning drummer/producer Steve Jordan (The Rolling Stones), the album brings together Buddy Guy, Bobby Rush, Keb' Mo', Shemekia Copeland, Robert Cray, Charlie Musselwhite, Betty LaVette, Ledisi, George Benson, and others to bring the blues and swing back together for a set that jumps and jives with an energy not heard since Louis Jordan and T-Bone Walker lit up stages in the '40s and '50s.