Hvoslef /Odriozola / Lossius - Chamber Works No. Viii | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store

More Info:

Ketil Hvoslef (b. 1939) is a productive, versatile and undogmatic composer who - even now, in his 80's - continues to write music at a furious pace. Hvoslef's style is characterized by an economy of means, the accumulation of latent energy, rhythmical ingenuity and, often, an element of humour. Ketil Hvoslef (né Ketil Sæverud; born 19 July 1939 in Bergen, Norway) is a Norwegian composer. He is the son of composer Harald Sæverud. Hvoslef studied viola and organ at the Bergen Music Conservatory (now a part of Grieg Academy) graduating in 1962. He furthered his studies in Stockholm with Karl-Birger Blomdahl and Ingvar Lidholm, then in London with Thomas Rajna and Henri Lazarof. He taught music theory and ear training at the Bergen Music Conservatory (1963?1979). Hvoslef had his debut as a composer in 1964 with the Concertino for Piano and Orchestra. He has composed works for the stage including the opera Barabbas, for orchestra including the symphonic poem Mi-Fi-LI. Hvoslef has also written a number of solo concertos for piano, trumpet, double bass, violin, bassoon, cello as well as a double concerto for flute and guitar, a triple concerto for violin, cello and piano, a concerto for saxophone quartet and orchestra as well as major orchestral works such as Concertino for orchestra, Antigone and Il compleanno written for the 205th anniversary of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. Key chamber music works in Hvoslef's production includes works such as Kvartoni, Clarinet Quintet, Sextet for flute and percussion, Serenata perarchi and String Quartet No. III. His output also comprises a number of works for solo instruments including five major organ works as well as music for stage and TV productions.