Suzanne Vega - An Evening Of New York Songs And Stories [LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

An Evening Of New York Songs And Stories [LP]
Artist: Suzanne Vega
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 09/11/2020
UPC: 711297526318

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Marlene on the Wall
2. Luka
3. 'So How Many People Are Here from out of Town?'
4. New York Is a Woman
5. 'This Next Song Takes Place on 59th Street...'
6. Frank and Eva
7. 'So I Myself Came to New York City When I Was 2 ½ Years Old'
8. Gypsy
9. Freeze Tag 1
10. Pornographer's Dream 1
11. 'This Next Song Is Called New York Is My Destination' 1
12. New York Is My Destination 1
13. 'The First Time I Saw Lou Reed...' 1
14. Walk on the Wild Side 1
15. Ludlow Street 1
16. Cracking 1
17. 'And Now We've Got a Song About Those Times...' 1
18. Some Journey 1
19. 'I'm Gonna Close with This Song...' 2
20. Tom's Diner 2
21. 'Would You Like Another One?' 2
22. Anniversary 2
23. Tombstone 2
24. Thin Man

More Info:

Vinyl LP pressing. 2020 live release. On An Evening of New York Songs and Stories, Vega revisits some of the most iconic songs in her repertoire as well as more hidden gems in a stunning live recording on which she is backed by longtime guitarist, Gerry Leonard, bassist Jeff Allen and keyboardist Jamie Edwards. Recorded at New York City's famed Café Carlyle in early 2019, An Evening of New York Songs and Stories includes both familiar songs like "Luka" and "Tom's Diner" and deep cuts from her catalogue like "Frank and Ava" and "Ludlow Street". The mix of repertoire also features "New York Is My Destination" from Lover, Beloved: Songs from an Evening with Carson McCullers, Vega's one woman play about the Southern gothic novelist Carson McCullers, and a cover of her late friend Lou Reed's "Walk on the Wild Side."