Skip James - Complete 1931 Session [RSD Black Friday 2022] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. A1 Devil Got My Woman
2. A2 If You Haven't Any Hay Get on Down the Road
3. A3 Hard Luck Child
4. A4 Drunken Spree
5. A5 Little Cow and Calf Is Gonna Die Blues
6. A6 Be Ready When He Comes
7. A7 How Long "Buck"
8. A8 I'm So Glad
9. A9 Cherry Ball Blues
10. B1 Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues
11. B2 22-20 Blues
12. B3 4 O'Clock Blues
13. B4 Jesus Is a Mighty Good Leader
14. B5 Yola My Blues Away
15. B6 What Am I to Do Blues
16. B7 Special Rider Blues
17. B8 Illinois Blues
18. B9 Cypress Grove Blues

More Info:

Skip James was a Delta blues artist from Mississippi.  Known for his career during the Great Depression and subsequent decades, he was “rediscovered” and became much more widely recognized during the 1960’s when he was in very poor health nearing the end of his life. His playing style was primarily in a minor key, featuring complex fingerpicking. After years of being out of print, The Complete 1931 Sessions, taken from James' Paramount recordings, will be remastered and reissued by ORG Music for RSD Black Friday on color vinyl. The reissue features new artwork and liner notes by author Larry Jaffee. The compilation is made up of some of the earliest years of the artist’s career and showcases the astounding talent he possessed from the very beginning.

A1 Devil Got My Woman
A2 If You Haven't Any Hay Get On Down The Road
A3 Hard Luck Child
A4 Drunken Spree
A5 Little Cow And Calf Is Gonna Die Blues
A6 Be Ready When He Comes
A7 How Long "Buck"
A8 I'm So Glad
A9 Cherry Ball Blues
B1 Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues
B2 22-20 Blues
B3 4 O'Clock Blues
B4 Jesus Is A MIghty Good Leader
B5 Yola My Blues Away
B6 What Am I To Do Blues
B7 Special Rider Blues
B8 Illinois Blues
B9 Cypress Grove Blues