Otto Zykan M / Honeybourne,Duncan - Otto M Zykan Plays Schonberg & Scriabin / Duncan | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Schonberg: Suite Fur Klavier Op 25,1 - 6
2. Drei Klavierstucke Op 11,1 - 3
3. Zwei Stucke Fur Klavier Op 33,1 - 2
4. Sechs Kleine Klavierstucke Op 19,1 - 6
5. Funf Stucke Fur Klavier Op 23,1 - 5
6. Scriabin: Prelude Op 15 NR. 5
7. Prelude Op 15 NR. 2
8. Prelude Op 11 NR.14
9. Prelude Op 22 NR 2
10. Zykan: Nachtstuck NR 3
11. Choral
12. Stucke 1
13. Stucke 2
14. Stucke 3
15. Gelenkte Improvisation
16. Nachtstuck NR 5
17. Skizzen: Ruhig, Legato
18. Skizzen: Symphony
19. Skizzen: Ruhig
20. Nachgereichte Kadenz Ohne Konzert

More Info:

This unique 2-CD recording is produced by Prima Facie in association with the Austrian Broadcasting Corporation (ORF). It celebrates the genius of the Viennese composer, pianist and writer Otto M Zykan (1935-2006), whose historic recordings of Schoenberg's piano music are re-released here for the first time since their original issue on LP in 1970. Acclaimed by the German critic Joachim Kaiser as "captivating technically and spiritually in equal measure", Zykan's performances are important documents reflecting a lifelong dedication to Schoenberg's art. In this important release revealing the breadth of Zykan's musicianship and creativity, they are coupled with a new recording of Zykan's own complete solo piano music, played by the British pianist Duncan Honeybourne. Honeybourne was asked to record Zykan's piano music for the coupling by the composer's partner, Austrian musicologist and radio producer Irene Suchy. Duncan Honeybourne's link with the Viennese tradition comes through his former professor, Rosemarie Wright, Zykan's contemporary in the class of Bruno Seidlhofer, the most prominent piano teacher in Vienna. This remarkable release charts a compelling journey into the imagination of a vibrant musical polymath. Duncan Honeybourne enjoys a diverse profile as pianist and in music education. Following his concerto debuts at Symphony Hall, Birmingham, and the National Concert Hall, Dublin, he made recital debuts in London, Paris and at international festivals in Belgium and Switzerland. Commended for his "gripping performances" - The Times, "glittering performances" - International Piano and "great technical facility and unfailing imagination" - Musical Opinion, Duncan has toured extensively as soloist and chamber musician throughout the UK, Ireland and Europe, broadcasting frequently on BBC Radio 3 and radio networks worldwide. His many recordings reflect his long association with 20th and 21st century British piano music, and his debut recording as a harpsichordist was released in 2023. Duncan Honeybourne teaches piano and chamber music at the Royal Academy of Music Junior Academy and is a Lecturer in Piano at the University of Southampton.