Annabelle Lawson - Complete Solo Piano Works Of Gordon Crosse (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Complete Solo Piano Works Of Gordon Crosse (Uk)
Artist: Annabelle Lawson
Format: CD


Label: Prima Facie
Rel. Date: 11/17/2023
UPC: 7141148049582

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Piano Sonata No.1 - Vivace con Fuoco
2. Piano Sonata No.1 - Lento Molto, Calmo Assai
3. Piano Sonata No.1 - Presto Scorrevole e Sotto Voce
4. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Puffin Windmill
5. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Battleship and Submarine
6. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Classic Hen
7. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Sheep and Shearsman
8. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Two WWI Biplanes
9. Piano Sonata No.2 - Fluid
10. Piano Sonata No.2 - Still
11. Piano Sonata No.2 - Vigorous
12. Piano Sonata No.3 - Allegro Vigoroso
13. Piano Sonata No.3 - Molto Lento
14. Piano Sonata No.3 - Prestissimo
15. L'Isle Heureuse (etude for solo piano)

More Info:

"Distinguished composer (and dear friend) Gordon Crosse, passed away in November 2021, aged 84. When I heard that Gordon was ill, I wrote to him promising to record the remainder of his works for solo piano and compile them into one, single disc. Gordon died less than a week after I emailed him. It was particularly important to me to make this promise, as Gordon's last work for solo piano - a beautiful Etude called L'Isle Heureuse (Papa Westray, Orkney) - was written as a gift for me and my parents and arrived on our doorstep, as a surprise, in 2019 - just before the birth of my second son. Having already recorded one piano sonata, a collection of miniatures and the Trio (revised for the Lawson Trio in 2014), onto a previous disc for Prima Facie Records, two piano sonatas and the Etude remained to be recorded. I have lived with Gordon's music for nearly ten years and given the world premieres of two of the piano sonatas, along with the revised Trio, so this music is extremely close to my heart. I'm so glad to have recorded a disc comprising music which I hold in such high esteem, by such a celebrated and much-loved composer and person. I have been fortunate enough to have received GBP2,500 of grants from the Ida Carroll Trust and the Vaughan Williams Foundatioas well as several thousand pounds of pledges through Kickstarter and individual donors. The outpouring of love and respect for Gordon - both as a man and as a composer - has been inspiring and moving and I'm both proud and excited to have brought this project to fruition." Annabelle Lawson