Make Love Not War | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Make Love Not War


Label: Sonomonic Records
Rel. Date: 03/04/2022
UPC: 714535019795

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Start Rite Now
2. Psycho
3. Electric Third Rail
4. Time of the Assassins
5. Jar Wars
6. The Munsters (Live)
7. Nervo's Tune (The Liquidator) (Live)
8. The Untouchables (Live)
9. Make Love Not War
10. Turn Out the Light
11. You and I
12. Boys Night Out
13. Teenage Rebellion
14. Time Is Tight (Live)
15. Jar Wars (Live)

More Info:

Individually, the members of The Jars were discerning record collectors, radio DJs, fanzine editors and record store clerks well versed in prog, kraut, garage rock and bubblegum, long before punk rock and new wave had entered the cultural landscape. The Jars combined all these influences to create their own brand of "avant-garage psycho-pop," helping spearhead the original Berkeley Punk / New Wave scene. Between 1979 and 1982, The Jars released two successful singles and made appearances alongside dozens of notorious local and internationally known acts such as Roky Erickson, Angry Samoans, the Dickies, the Flamin' Groovies, Dead Kennedys, the Suspects, the Mutants, the Contractions and MX 80. Make Love Not War combines their singles with ten previously unheard studio tracks and live performances, acting as a document, firming up The Jars place in Berkeley new wave and punk rock history. Time is long overdue that these tracks were freed from the vaults, dusted off and funneled into the ears of listeners.