Alan Clayson - Ancient And Modern: Highlights Of Half-A-Century | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Ancient And Modern: Highlights Of Half-A-Century
Artist: Alan Clayson
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 12/08/2023
UPC: 720053285420

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Sol Nova
2. Pagan Mercia
3. The Local Mister Strange
4. Landwaster
5. Eleanor In Bondage
6. Rebel Rocker
7. Run Kalwinder
8. Heedless Child
9. Days In Old Rotterdam
10. The Rake's Progress
11. The Moonlight Skater
12. Teenage Runaway
13. Forest De Winter Kit-Kat
14. The Last Show On Earth
15. Superman '42 / Rue Morgue
16. Young England
17. The Refugees
18. This Time Tomorrow

More Info:

Ancient and Modern: Highlights of Half-a-Century is a testament to Alan Clayson's five decades of musical brilliance. Known as the charismatic frontman of Clayson and the Argonauts and a notable solo artist, both entities are characterized by their distinctive recorded output and stage acts that defy succinct description. This compilation showcases the breadth of Clayson's styles, from psychedelic gems like "Sol Nova" to much-covered folk tracks such as "The Moonlight Skater," co-written with Jim McCarty of the Yardbirds. Moreover, since 2011, he has been touring with Clayson Sings Chanson, a presentation aligned with the recent edition of his Jacques Brel biography, La Vie Bohème - just one among thirty books of which he is the author. This handpicked collection enhances his already remarkable discography, providing an excellent entry point for newcomers.