Enescu / Faure / Serban - Melodies Infinies - Piano Quartets | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. I. Allegro Molto Moderato [10:10]
2. II. Scherzo: Allegro Vivo [05:53]
3. III. Adagio [07:56]
4. IV. Allegro Molto [08:15]
5. I. Allegro Moderato [16:21]
6. II. Andante Mesto [14:38]
7. III. Vivace [11:14

More Info:

Gabriel Fauré's Piano Quartet in C minor was one of the first of it's genre in France, composed as part of the 'Ars Gallica' idea of strengthening French music against German cultural domination. Fauré didn't entirely escape the influence of Brahms however, and both he and his pupil George Enescu share a spiritual closeness to German late Romanticism in the melancholy complexity of expression in these chamber masterpieces. The monumental first movement of Enescu's First Piano Quartet contrasts with the rhythmic momentum of the last, in a work that integrates French impressionism with the unmistakable folk music characteristics of his native Romania.