Sonny Williamson Boy / Slim,Memphis / Murphy,Matt - Unissued 1963 Blues Festival (Mod) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Memphis Slim - Wish Me Well
2. Memphis Slim - I Wrote This Song
3. Memphis Slim - All By Myself
4. Sonny Boy Williamson - 99
5. Sonny Boy Williamson - Bye Bye Bird
6. Memphis Slim - in the Evening
7. Matt Murphy - Grooving on Bounce
8. Matt Murphy - Taking Off
9. Sonny Boy Williamson - All My Love in Vain
10. Sonny Boy Williamson - Your Funeral and My Trial
11. Sonny Boy Williamson - Don't Start Me Talking

More Info:

As the infamous '63 American Folk Blues Festival made it's triumphant progress through Europe, stamping it's name across music history for many years to come, it left behind a body of recorded work that has for good reason seen countless reissues over the years. This one however has somehow remained a secret. Recorded live in Oberhausen, West Germany in 1963, this gem of big names and even bigger performances only saw the light of day through Alan Merson's Friday evening jazz show on local French radio in 1985 and see's Memphis Slim, Matt Murphy and Sonny Boy Williamson team up with Willie Dixon on bass and Billie Stepney on drums to bring you an unbelievable night of blues mayhem on tracks including 'In the Evening' and 'All My Love in Vain'.