NATHAN MILSTEIN - Us Armed Forces Studio Recordings (Aus) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Us Armed Forces Studio Recordings (Aus)
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 06/17/2022
UPC: 744718501526

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Vivaldi (Arr. David) Violin Sonata in a
2. Brahms Violin Sonata No.2 in a, Op.100
3. Massenet (Arr. Marsick) 'Meditation' from Thaïs
4. Ravel (Arr. Catherine) Pièce en Forme D'habanera
5. Wieniawski Étude-Caprice in a Minor, Op.18 No.4
6. Wieniawski Scherzo-Tarantelle, Op.16
7. Schumann Abendlied
8. Massenet (Arr. Marsick) 'Meditation' from Thaïs
9. Rimsky-Korsakov Flight of the Bumble Bee
10. Gluck (Arr. Kreisler) Mélodie from Orfeo Ed Euridice
11. Suk Burleska
12. Lalo Symphonie Espagnole, Op.21
13. Schubert Ave Maria, D.839
14. Schubert Serenade, D.957 No.4
15. Mendelssohn on Wings of Song, Op.34 No.2
16. Fauré Après Un Rêve, Op.7 No.1
17. Poldini (Arr. Kreisler) Dancing Doll
18. Foster Old Folks at Home

More Info:

Nathan Milstein is universally regarded as one of the greatest violinists of the 20th-century. A student of the famed Leopold Auer, Milstein stayed in Russia after the 1917 Revolution and only emigrated to the West in the mid-1920s. As well as solo concerts, Milstein performed in a piano trio with Horowitz and Piatigorsky. After settling in the West, he became established as a major musical artist, and he continued giving concerts into his mid 80s. This CD includes many items never before available commercially. Of special interest are the complete recordings Milstein made for the "Basic Music Library" on the Armed Forces label. This includes several works he never otherwise recorded, including the Brahms Violin Sonata No.2, and short pieces by Ravel and Wieniawski. Also featured on this CD release are Milstein's V-disc and "Voice of America" recordings, as well as the RCA album "Violin Favorites" featuring popular violin solo encores arranged for orchestral accompaniment by Leroy Anderson.