Alrich / Glennie / Thorel - Concertos For Mallet | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Marimba Concerto - Karl Jenkins - Classical Composer
2. Track 2
3. I. Con Moto
4. Track 4
5. II. Lento
6. Track 6
7. III. Energico
8. Track 8
9. La Folia
10. Mallet Concerto - Ned Rorem - Classical Composer
11. Track 11
12. I. a Beginning
13. Track 13
14. II. Another Minotaur
15. Track 15
16. III. Back and Forth
17. Track 17
18. Iv. a Xylo-Waltz
19. Track 19
20. V. Let Me in
21. 1
22. Vi. Tag
23. 1
24. Vii. An Ending

More Info:

This compilation of concertos for mallet instruments features triple GRAMMY Award-winning percussion virtuoso Dame Evelyn Glennie and City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong. Alexis Alrich's Marimba Concerto, a rich amalgam of bold rhythms and exuberance, also explores Mexican and Asian-inspired music. Sir Karl Jenkins traces the 15th-century tune La Folia, furnishing it with refinement and strongly characterized intensity. Ned Rorem's Mallet Concerto highlights the contrasting resonances of four different pitched mallets in music of drama and dynamism. Dame Evelyn Glennie is the first person in musical history to successfully create and sustain a career as a full-time solo percussionist. As an eclectic and innovative musician and composer, she is constantly redefining the goals and expectations of percussion. Her diverse collaborations include performances with Björk, Bobby McFerrin, Sting, Mark Knopfler, The King's Singers and Béla Fleck. She has performed as soloist with many of the world's major orchestras, and took a lead role in the opening ceremony to mark the 2012 Olympics in London. Dame Evelyn Glennie has commissioned over two hundred new works for solo percussion from many of the world's most eminent composers. She has made over forty solo recordings, three of which have received GRAMMY Awards. She has received over ninety international awards, including an Order of the British Empire (OBE), Dame Commander (DBE) and the Companion of Honour.