Mussorgsky / Schumann / Neumann - Robert Neumann Plays Schumann & Mussorgsky | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. I. Äußerst Bewegt [02:25]
2. II. Sehr Innig Und Nicht Zu Rasch [09:59]
3. III. Sehr Aufgeregt [04:19]
4. IV. Sehr Langsam [04:14]
5. V. Sehr Lebhaft [03:16]
6. VI. Sehr Langsam [04:16]
7. VII. Sehr Rasch [02:23]
8. VIII. Schnell Und Spielend [04:19]
9. Promenade [01:49]
10. I. Gnomus [04:07]
11. II. Old Castle [05:11]
12. III. Tuileries [01:03]
13. IV. Bydlo [04:29]
14. V. Ballet of the Chickens in Their Shells [01:14]
15. VI. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle [02:35]
16. Promenade [02:01]
17. VII. the Market-Place at Limoges [01:23]
18. VIII. Catacombae (Sepulcrum Romanum) - [02:41]
19. VIII. Con Mortuis in Lingua Mortua [02:19]
20. IX. the Hut on Fowl's Legs (Baba-Yaga) [03:29]
21. X. the Great Gate at Kiev [05:15

More Info:

As a winner of numerous national and international youth competitions, Robert Neumann (born 2001) was awarded with the International Classic Music Discovery Award 2017. In 2018, the Jury of the SWR (radio broadcasting corporation in Southwest Germany) chose Robert as the "SWR New Talent". For his debut CD at SWRmusic, Robert was awarded the OPUS KLASSIK Young Artist of the Year 2021. The young pianist made his orchestral debut with the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra when he was eight, and since then he has appeared with other orchestras, including the Moscow Symphony Orchestra, German State Philharmonic Ludwigshafen, Stuttgart Philharmonic, Liechtenstein Symphony Orchestra, SWR Symphonieorchestra, Praga Philharmonic Camerata and the Gewandhaus Orchestra. For his second album, Robert Neumann chose two works which can easily be placed side by side and that are both close to the pianist's heart. Robert Schumann's Kreisleriana is about a character from several tales by E. T. A. Hoffmann and Modest Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition describes walking from one work of art to the next. Both are programme music pieces with somewhat comparable ideas but, as Neumann puts it: "One idea deals with a real character, the other one doesn't [...]. And I think both show in an exemplary manner how flawlessly and also in different ways a great Romantic cycle can be structured, formed.