Haydn / Norrington - London Symphonies (4pk) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

London Symphonies (4pk)
Artist: Haydn / Norrington
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 06/11/2021
UPC: 747313952786

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Symphony No. 93 in D Major, Hob.I:93
2. I. Adagio - Allegro assai
3. II. Largo cantabile
4. III. Menuet
5. IV. Finale: Presto ma non troppo
6. Symphony No. 97 in C Major, Hob.I:97
7. I. Adagio - Vivace
8. II. Adagio ma non troppo
9. III. Menuet: Allegretto
10. IV. Finale: Presto assai
11. Symphony No. 101 in D Major, Hob.I:101, "The Clock"
12. I. Adagio - Presto
13. II. Andante
14. 1  III. Menuet: Allegretto
15. 1   IV. Finale: Vivace
16. Symphony No. 94 in G Major, Hob.I:94, "The Surprise"
17. I. Adagio cantabile - Vivace assai
18. II. Andante
19. III. Menuetto
20. IV. Finale: Allegro di molto
21. Symphony No. 98 in B-Flat Major, Hob.I:98
22. I. Adagio - Allegro
23. II. Adagio
24. III. Menuet: Allegro
25. IV. Finale: Presto
26. Symphony No. 102 in B-Flat Major, Hob.I:102
27. I. Largo - Vivace
28. II. Adagio
29. 1  III. Menuet - Trio: Allegro
30. 1   IV. Finale: Presto
31. Symphony No. 95 in C Minor, Hob.I:95
32. I. Allegro moderato
33. II. Andante cantabile
34. III. Minuet
35. IV. Finale: Vivace
36. Symphony No. 99 in E-Flat Major, Hob.I:99
37. I. Adagio - Vivace assai
38. II. Adagio
39. III. Menuet: Allegretto
40. IV. Finale: Vivace
41. Symphony No. 103 in E-Flat Major, Hob.I:103, "Drumroll"
42. I. Adagio - Allegro con spirito
43. II. Andante più tosto allegretto
44. 1  III. Menuet - Trio
45. 1   IV. Finale: Allegro con spirito
46. Symphony No. 96 in D Major, Hob.I:96, "The Miracle"
47. I. Adagio - Allegro
48. II. Andante
49. III. Menuetto: Allegretto
50. IV. Finale: Vivace assai
51. Symphony No. 100 in G Major, Hob.I:100, "Military"
52. I. Adagio - Allegro
53. II. Allegretto
54. III. Menuet: Moderato
55. IV. Finale: Presto
56. Symphony No. 104 in D Major, Hob.I:104, "London"
57. I. Adagio - Allegro
58. II. Andante
59. 1  III. Menuet - Trio
60. 1   IV. Finale: Spiritoso

More Info:

The two extended visits in London, in 1791 and 1794, were the greatest triumph in the career of Joseph Haydn. By that time he had already composed 92 symphonies, 12 more came into being while he was in London. The English were stunned by his new masterpieces, which Haydn directed personally. They knew that they were in the presence of the greatest composer in the world. Mozart was already dead and Beethoven not yet known. In September 2009 during the Europäisches Musikfest the SWR Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart and Sir Roger Norrington celebrated the memory of Joseph Haydn by performing and recording live all 12 London symphonies. They focused - with regards on orchestra size, seating, tempo, phrasing, articulation and sound - on historical performing style, their aim being to render the majesty, the folk-like simplicity, the infectious sense of dance, the surprises, and the humor characteristic to the Father of the symphony.