Negativland - Speech Free: Recorded Music For Film, Radio | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Speech Free: Recorded Music For Film, Radio
Artist: Negativland
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 02/17/2023
UPC: 753762003719

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. There Is No Planet
2. Is It or Isn't It
3. Square Shaped Clouds
4. Live at Sea
5. What Is the Problem?
6. Building and Raising
7. I Love Bees
8. Nothing Is Destroyed
9. Ride the Accident
10. Don't Trust Your Memory
11. Believe What You Can
12. Loop Forever
13. Participate
14. More Than One Answer
15. Let's Just Ship It
16. Breathe in Breathe Out
17. A Portal of Sorts
18. Algorithmic Me
19. The Real Punishment
20. No Excuse
21. A Couple of Milliseconds
22. Death Is Optional
23. A Big Mistake
24. They're the One
25. Tape the Pain in Place
26. Every Song Ever Created
27. No Wonder
28. Oh

More Info:

Vinyl LP pressing. What does a Negativland album sound like when it's missing all of those voice samples? It sounds like Speech Free. A release of library music for advertising, this new album by Negativland has had every last trace of language carefully removed from the mix. But what does that really mean? Having become a rock music adjective for their work in mass media collage, where voices are seized from the airwaves and woven into musical conversations more true than anything that normally makes it on the air, Speech Free is a complete re-imagining of the music that was hiding in plain sight beneath the branded 'cultural jamming' on their last two record albums. Entirely composed and performed by the band with an all-star group of guest musicians (including Prairie Prince, Ava Mendoza, Matmos and others), these productions explode out of even the tiniest speakers as some of Negativland's most listenable barrages of pure ear candy yet - all they had to do was remove all of that speech! As marketing research suggests, these catchy tunes will work well as new jingles and musical beds, perfectly suited for voiceovers discussing anything from commercial products to political campaigns. Everyone knows that most target audiences regularly indicate a preference for moderately subversive content - and this release provides that audience with precisely the right amount, now that all of this 'usable music' has been personally guaranteed by Negativland as Speech Free.