Charles Moothart - Black Holes Don't Choke | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Black Holes Don't Choke
Artist: Charles Moothart
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 03/08/2024
UPC: 759718538816

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Track 1
2. Roll
3. Track 3
4. Hold On
5. Track 5
6. Black Holes Don't Choke
7. Track 7
8. Anchored And Empty
9. Track 9
10. One Wish
11. Track 11
12. Little Egg
13. Track 13
14. Clock Rats
15. Track 15
16. Time Lapse Choke
17. Track 17
18. The Fire I Call Home
19. 1
20. Crypts Crumble

More Info:

The ever poignant yet exceedingly elusive Chorg Dorgon speaks on the new album by Charles Moothart, entitled Black Holes Don't Choke:"For the sake of clarity, and it's clarity that we seek, Charles has been a pillar of our musical experience since he began playing eons ago in the various projects and countless albums he has contributed to. Charles is a musician who has been constantly on the road for years playing in Ty Segall's Freedom Band and Fuzz. When there has been a rare time away from those engagements especially in the post-pandemic scramble to catch up world of gigs and tours, he has been spending all of his time in his laboratory figuring out how to synthesize all of the info he has collected and musical ideas he has developed in the past few years since the last CFM record and subsequent shows for this new solo work. Just before the pandemic started, he was out playing solo shows in a project that revolved around an MPC sampler, just to give an example as to the wideness of his explorations. His result is Black Holes Don't Choke. Love songs for the apocalypse. A prayer toward optimism amid chaos. A plea toward nature. The themes on this album are the themes of today. Charles appeals for us to visualize evolution. And with a signature, the music sounds exactly as you want it to. It sounds like Charles Moothart's music only more evolved and with greater focus and direction. With greater textural dynamic and more sonic variation and realization, but never sacrificing the insane riff that he is clearly the master of. He gets to the point on this record. He is presenting a voice you can understand and rely on as you make your own journey into it. Create your own meanings. The record now belongs to the world. Because we all start a thought as that which is beginning-less and endless and at some certain point it becomes it's own thought, takes it owns shape and becomes itself, separate from the thinker, separate from the observer. Alive in the ether!"