Hertel / Messerschmidt / Schonheit - Cello & Organ Concertos | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

Since only a very few compositions from Johann Wilhelm Hertel's complete oeuvre were printed during his lifetime, the dissemination of his music was very limited and restricted. The rediscovery of this master's two cello concertos in the early 1990s already represented a great enrichment of the repertoire of violoncello concertos from the age of Empfindsamkeit and the style galant around 1750. Bettina Messerschmidt became acquainted with Hertel's music at the beginning of her career as a Baroque cellist and enthusiastically welcomed the warmth, power, and melodiousness of his compositions right from the very start. In the concertos she often develops a dialogue between the cello and the strings through contrasting expression of an intensity recalling the cello concertos written by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach around the same time. Along with two symphonies by Hertel, his only organ concerto, in all probability composed during 1756-57, is heard on our new releases. Here too the organ shines in dancy movements with fiery figurations.