Van Stephenson - China Girl [Deluxe] (Aus) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Van Stephenson - China Girl [Deluxe] (Aus)
China Girl [Deluxe] (Aus)
Artist: Van Stephenson
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 12/16/2022
UPC: 762184215624

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. You've Got a Good Love Coming
2. Looks Like a Loser
3. Seeing Is Believing
4. China Girl
5. Weekend Warrior
6. I Would If I Could
7. Tonight the Love's on Me
8. Hotter in the Night
9. New York, Hold Her Tight
10. Lion in the Night
11. I Would If I Could (Original Demo)
12. New York, Hold Her Tight (Original Demo)
13. Lion in the Night (Guitar ; Vocal Gospel Version)
14. New York, Hold Her Tight (Acoustic Version)
15. Burning the Midnight Love
16. Kiss Your Heartache Goodbye (Rock Mix)
17. Don't Be Afraid of the Dark (Full Demo)
18. I Don't Want to Know
19. The Night Is Saying Yes (Full Demo)
20. Still Falling
21. As Long As I'm with You
22. When You're in Love
23. With Love to Spare (Full Demo)
24. Is She in Love
25. Come Out, Come Out Where Ever You Are
26. Marlena
27. Don't Give in (Gospel Version)
28. Kiss Your Heartache Goodbye (Aor Mix)
29. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow

More Info:

MelodicRock Classics is proud and honored to partner with the family of the late, great Van Stephenson, plus his many co-writers and musical partners, to pay tribute to the legacy of the legendary singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist with a series of archive releases, culminating in two career spanning box sets, featuring all unreleased songs from his vast songwriting archives. A Deluxe Edition of Van's debut solo album China Girl is the first title announced. Released at the end of 1981, 'China Girl' established Van as a solo artist in his own right, with the hit single 'You've Got A Good Love Coming' entering the Top 100. Due to complicated ownership issues, the album has remained hard to find on CD, with limited brief re-issues appearing in the US (1999) and Japan (2014). Finally, the definitive version of the album can be revealed - a Deluxe 2CD Edition - featuring the original album plus 4 unreleased demos on Disc One and an amazing 15 unreleased tracks from the same 1980-81 song-writing period on Disc Two. The songs are all cultivated from Van's unreleased archives and feature songs written by him alone plus other songs co-written with his 'China Girl' writing partners Sam Lorber, Jeff Silbar, Austin Roberts and Dave Robbins. To complete the package, new artwork from French graphic artist Arnaud Leger has been specially commissioned, plus the audio for both discs has been carefully remastered by acclaimed producer JK Northrup.