MPG - Mpg (Bonus Tracks) [Deluxe] (Aus) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Mpg (Bonus Tracks) [Deluxe] (Aus)
Artist: MPG
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/25/2023
UPC: 762184217024

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Too Many Questions
2. Workin' Overtime
3. Best Thing I Never Had
4. Goodbye Cruel World
5. Why Me
6. Get Yours Tonight
7. Hurt Me
8. Can I Come Over Tonight
9. Always Something
10. Too Many Questions
11. Goodbye Cruel World (4 Track Demo)
12. Hurt Me
13. Always Something (4 Track Demo)
14. Stop The World (New Song 2022)
15. Worn Out Shoes
16. That's Easy
17. Life In The Arena
18. Toys For Boys
19. Front Page News
20. Can't Miss Love
21. Feels So Goo
22. Number One
23. Nobody There
24. Somebody Somewhere
25. Bedtime Story
26. Worn Out Shoes (8 Track Demo)
27. High School Confidential (Miles Bros. Early 4 Track Version)
28. Saved My Life (Miles Bros. Live 1979 Bistro Club (2 Track)
29. Some Other Time (Miles Bros. Live 1979 Bistro Club Atlanta (2 Track)

More Info:

MelodicRock Classics is thrilled to partner with classic 80s pomp/AOR act Mpg to bring fans the first ever official CD release of the band's 1981 debut album, originally released by A&M Records. This special Deluxe Edition expands the original album with 4 early demos, but then on a second disc, jumps forward into work recorded for a never released second studio album, plus other tracks demoed over the years since. The guys have always stayed in touch and this culminates with the addition of a brand-new song - "Stop The World" - recorded last year and mixed only a month ago. JK Northrup has mastered the new song as well as remastering the original album and all bonus tracks. The band has delivered some liner notes about the album and the extra tracks, plus a range of exclusive never before seen photos, all included in the accompanying booklet. Mpg was originally a well known group circa late 1970's in the Atlanta Georgia area called The Miles Brothers. They were headed by Steve Carey on Lead Vocals and Keyboards. He wrote most all of the original music and was supported by Michael Bolt on Drums, Steve Locklin on Bass and Kim Smith on Guitar. The Miles Brothers management thought that the group possibly needed a little more rock influence and a lead guitarist that could possibly sing. So soon after David Mikeal was added to the lineup. The group continued to be called The Miles Brothers and kept their strong R&B roots clearly evident in their rhythm section. A lot of new material was written and record labels were showing up regularly to watch the group. A&M Records ended up being the label that signed The Miles Brothers in 1980. That's when the record label told the band they would have to change their name The group looked over a lot of names and decided they would like to keep Miles in the name somehow. That's how Mpg (Miles Per Gallon) was picked as the new name. The second disc contains a lot of the songs that didn't make the official A&M Records release. It also contains some of the songs that were demos for the 2nd A&M album release that never happened. The recordings range from state of the art to 4 track demos at home studios. The vast majority of these songs were again written by Steve Carey along with 2 new additions from David Mikeal (Front Page News, Number One) Some of these tunes were the bands favorites but didn't make the cut.