Mike Farris - Sound Of Muscle Shoals (Bonus Track) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Ease On
2. Heavy On The Humble
3. Swingin'
4. I'll Come Runnin'
5. Bird In The Rain
6. Slow Train
7. Bright Lights
8. Learning To Love
9. Her
10. Before There Was You ; I
11. Sunset Road

More Info:

For The Sound of Muscle Shoals, Mike Farris's first album since 2018's Silver & Stone, Farris made the pilgrimage that many soul shakers and stirrers have made before him, across the O'Neal Bridge and over the Tennessee River, straight into the creative vortex of Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and right up to the door of the legendary Fame Studios. The result of that pilgrimage is The Sound of Muscle Shoals. It's the culmination of all of Farris's musical influences and life lessons learned, captured in a location that holds deep meaning for him, in creative collaboration with members of the legendary Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section and other session stalwarts of 'The Shoals' recording scene: Clayton Ivey (keys), Will McFarlane, Kelvin Holly, Wes Sheffield (guitars), Jimbo Hart (bass), and Justin Holder (drums). Collectively, they capture lightning in a bottle, channeling the spirit of their musical forebearers. Overseen by award-winning executive producer Rodney Hall (son of legendary producer and record man Rick Hall), the new album conjures up the intrinsic magic of the Muscle Shoals sound on a set of songs that reflect on life's lessons, hard learned and hard-earned. Stand out tracks include "Ease On" which details Farris's early life growing up in Franklin County, Tennessee, "Bird in The Rain" which is informed by Farris's deep connection to the South and "Bright Lights" which is a paeon to the musician's life. Farris says: "It's a deep, mysterious road we travel, that only a relative few are crazy enough to endure, and it demands everything. In the end, it's all we know. It's all I have ever done, and I wouldn't trade it for all the riches in the world." Mike Farris is an artist's artist and a musician's musician, celebrated and revered by his fellow performers. He is a GRAMMY, Americana Association, and Dove Music award winner, with six solo albums since 2001. He is also a founding member of 90's mainstream rock group, The Screamin' Cheetah Wheelies.