Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers - Funk Express | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Come On And Boogie (Part 1 - Vocal)
2. Come On And Boogie (Part Ii - A Fantasy Of Fusion)
3. In The Pocket
4. Who Are You
5. Sticks And Stones
6. Time Has No Ending
7. Slow Down (You Keep Telling Me)
8. Keep That Same Old Feeling
9. I Love You, I Do
10. Get Up Get Down
11. I Want To Ta Ta You Baby
12. The Key

More Info:

This is a special remastered album by Chuck Brown and the Soul Searchers originally released in 1980. It precedes the Go-Go sound he later created, but you can hear the initial elements of call and response and percussion breakdowns, as well as the signature tight horn and rhythm section of the Soul Searchers. The collection includes 4 tracks recorded at the same time but never before released, including a beautiful rendition of Johnny Guitar Watson's " I Want to Ta Ta You Baby." Chuck Brown is a music innovator who started his career on Clarence Avant's Sussex label before moving to Source. In the mid-eighties he fully developed his Go Go sound with hits like We Need Some Money, Run Joe, Go Go Swing and others. In the 90s he recorded a jazz and blues duet album with the now platinum Eva Cassidy and dedicated the Timeless album of jazz and blues standards to her after her passing. In the 2000s Chuck Brown had a huge resurgence with 5 Billboard charting album over 12 years and a Grammy nomination. He was also awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Endowment for the Arts, a street was named after him and later (posthumously) Chuck Brown Memorial Park opened in DC. He recorded collaborations with Thievery Corporation, Kindred the Family Soul, Brian Culbertson, Jeff Majors, Ledisi, Jill Scott, Faith Evans, Wale, Raheem DeVaughn, DJ Kool, Sugar Bear and others. The Funk Express album is a collectible collection of pure uplifting Funk, R&B and body moving grooves, remastered for true music lovers to enjoy after being unavailable for decades. Get onboard!