Townes Zandt Van - Far Cry From Dead | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Townes Zandt  Van - Far Cry From Dead
Far Cry From Dead
Artist: Townes Zandt Van
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 04/21/2023
UPC: 767981175911

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Dollar Bill Blues
2. To Live Is to Fly
3. Rex's Blues
4. Sanitarium Blues
5. Ain't Leavin' Your Love
6. Greensboro Woman
7. Snake Mountain Blues
8. Pancho ; Lefty
9. For the Sake of the Song
10. Waitin' Round to Die
11. Many a Fine Lady
12. Tower Song
13. Squash

More Info:

For the first time ever, Townes Van Zandt's Grammy-nominated posthumous 1999 release A Far Cry From Dead will see a vinyl release. Van Zandt recorded the vocal and guitar takes for the album from the late 80s through the early 90s at Texhoma Music Group Studio, the late singer's next door neighbor's home studio in Nashville, and Jack Clement's Cowboy Arms Hotel and Recording Spa. Townes left the tapes to his widow, Jeanene Van Zandt, who worked with producer Eric Paul to bring the songs to life with a full band including guitarist Richard Bennet (Mark Knopfler, Billy Joel, Steve Earle, Rodney Crowell), percussionist Kenny Malone (Ray Charles, George Jones, Merle Haggard, Johnny Cash, etc.), and Charlie McCoy (Elvis Presley, Bob Dylan, Loretta Lynn, Waylon Jennings) among others.