The Gatekeepers - The Gatekeepers | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Butterflies (Feat. Elaine Di Falco)
2. I Like the Strange Things (Feat. Renaldo M)
3. A Promising Direction (Feat. Molly Harvey)
4. Who Are the Gatekeepers? (Feat. Cheer-Accident)
5. The Professional (Feat. Shawn Phillips)
6. Ignorance
7. The Patron (Feat. the Residents)
8. Anonymity
9. The Pundit (Feat. Deborah Perry)
10. I Think I Like the Strange Things? (Feat. Renaldo M ; Elaine Di Falco)
11. Obscurity the Algorithm (Feat. Amy Denio)
12. A Compromising Direction (Feat. Bob Drake)
13. All the Way to the Bank (Feat. R. Stevie Moore)
14. I Like the Normal Things
15. All the Way to the Bank (Remix)
16. The Professional (Seen It All Mix)
18. Tight Armhole (The Algorithm Remix)
19. The Patron (Cattle Baron Mix)

More Info:

The Gatekeepers is a concept album about failure. The story follows an artist trying to get their work out in the world but facing a series of sardonic and gatekeepers. A 15-song cycle exploring the creative process from beginning to end, including the cynical aspects of marketing art to the public and the toughness of deciding your own artistic fate.With a sophisticated blend of progressive, left-field rock, jazz, folk, and an authentic lo-fi spirit, the Gatekeepers creates a captivating musical contrast. Occasionally hypnotic, sometimes turbulent, the eclectic mix is reminiscent of The Lamb Lies Down Broadway, Kurt Vile, Of Montreal, and the Canterbury sound with a nod to Zappa.The album's composer and mastermind Alex Wroten is joined by an array of highly acclaimed and unconventional vocalists to bring the story to life: The Residents, Shawn Phillips, Brian Poole (Renaldo & The Loaf), R. Stevie Moore, Elaine di Falco (Yugen, Caveman Hughscore), Mont Campbell (Egg, National Health), Bob Drake, Amy Denio, Deborah Perry (Thinking Plague) and CHEER-ACCIDENT.Other performers in this musical's ensemble include: drummers Morgan Ågren (Mats/Morgan Band, Frank Zappa), Jacopo Costa (Loomings), Brian Wnukowski (Salvation, Haymarket Riot), Rob Allum (Add N To (X)); guitarists Frédéric L'Épée (Shylock, Philharmonie, Yang), Alan Jenkins (Deep Freeze Mice, Ruth's Refrigerator), Bill Brovold (Larval, Rhys Chatham Ensemble, East Village Orchestra), Paul Lai (Upsilon Acrux), Ty Citerman (Gutbucket); multi-instrumentalists Dave Willey (Hamster Theatre), Robert Webb (England), Dan Britton (Deluge Grander, Birds & Buildings); flautist Emily Hay (U Totem, 5uu's); keyboardist Duncan Mackay (Cockney Rebel, 10cc); violinist Matthew Parmenter (Discipline); and additional vocalists Molly Harvey (The Residents), Wally Scharold (miRthkon), and Blaine Reininger (Tuxedomoon).