Jerry Hunt - Irida Records - Hybrid Musics From Texas & Beyond | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Irida Records - Hybrid Musics From Texas & Beyond
Artist: Jerry Hunt
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 10/07/2022
UPC: 785034477119

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. LP1: Lattice
2. Sound Machine
3. T'Chu LP2: Transform (Stream)
4. Cantegral Segment 1
5. Track 5
6. Transphalba
7. Volta (Kernel) LP3: Co-Ordinative Systems
8. Music for Brass Instruments
9. Antiphonies and Streams
10. Suite for Solo 'Cello LP4: Quadrants: Event/Complex No. 1
11. Second Fantasy on Ives' Universe Symphony - The Heavens
12. Catalogo Voce
13. Maroon Bells LP5: Polyphonies I
14. Spectra for Bass and Computer Tapes
15. Primavera-Heterophony for 24 Celli LP6: High Energy
16. Starts Same but Beautiful
17. Flutes and Tuba
18. Powerful
19. Estampie
20. My Mother Is Here
21. Stravinsky
22. Third
23. Monkey Chant LP7: Sanctus
24. Concertal
25. Fractalis Balinesus
26. Euwe Suite:
27. Euwe-Colle
28. Euwe Suite:
29. Euwe-Alekhine
30. Euwe Suite:
31. Alekhine-Euwe
32. Euwe Suite:
33. Euwe-Najdorf
34. Euwe Suite:
35. Moonen-Euwe
36. Runes

More Info:

Irida Associates U.S.A., an obscure and short-lived record label formed by composer-performer Jerry Hunt, offers a glimpse into the revelatory world of new music and composition in the artist's native Third Coast. Based first in Dallas and later in Hunt's home outside the rural town of Canton, Texas, Irida presented the innovative and daring experiments-into aleatoric methods, environmental acoustics, improvisation, homemade technologies, and more-pursued by Hunt and his select collaborators, primarily working in or near Texas between 1979 and 1986. Irida's brief and compact output-seven non-sequentially numbered LPs released in unknown quantities-shared work by artists whose practices often challenged the limitations of vinyl recording. Hunt called the label a "vanity project" and frequently talked of a tax loophole he could claim if it all went belly up, but in it's short lifespan Irida captured a tremendous period of creative experimentation by the artist and his friends and collaborators.This boxed set gathers Irida's complete discography for the first time. These records include early attempts by Hunt to record his generative and highly permutable scores and performances on vinyl in Cantegral Segment(s) / Transform (Stream) / Transphalba / Volta (Kernel), as well as his only composition for piano, "Lattice," on Texas Music (both records 1979). The label distributed solo and group recordings by those in Hunt's circle as well, including Larry Austin's electroacoustic, syncretic compositions in Hybrid Musics; James Fulkerson's unique, extended techniques for the trombone on Works; a fusion of three overlaid compositions in Dary John Mizelle's Music of Dary John Mizelle; spontaneous pieces and riff-based "character improvisations" in Music of BL Lacerta by the four piece "orchestra in miniature" BL Lacerta Improvisation Quartet; and experiments in compositional "mapping" by external structures in Cartography, featuring Austin, Gene de Lisa, Robert Michael Keefe, and Rodney Waschka II. Accompanying the boxed set is a richly-illustrated reader with a detailed essay on on the label by Lawrence Kumpf and Tyler Maxin; never-before-published archival materials; newly commissioned reflections by Fulkerson and the composer Jerry Willingham; as well as an interview with Hunt and ephemera including album and concert reviews, artworks, posters and flyers, and correspondences from the musicians and composers involved.