Charles Stepney - Step On Step [2LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Roll Tape
2. Gimme Some Sugar
3. Daddy’s Diddies
4. Gotta Dig It To Dig It
5. No Credit For This
6. Roadtrip
7. On Your Face
8. That’s The Way Of The World
9. Imagination
10. In The Basement
11. Business
12. Look B4U Leap


1. Around The House
2. Funky Sci-Fi
3. Mini Mugg
4. Chicago Independent
5. Surround Stereo
6. Black Gold
7. Denim Groove
8. Notes From Dad
9. Rubie & Charles
10. Greatness
11. Step on Step

More Info:

Chicago-born composer, producer and arranger Charles Stepney is known to some for his work with Earth, Wind & Fire, Deniece Williams, Ramsey Lewis, Rotary Connection, Minnie Riperton, Muddy Waters, Howlin Wolf, Terry Callier, and many more. In the decades since his untimely death in 1976, the presence of his name in liner notes has become a seal of quality for record collectors, while his sound has been sampled extensively by artists such as Kanye West, A Tribe Called Quest, The Fugees, MF Doom, and Madlib. Step on Step – which comes almost 50 years after Stepney’s passing – is the enigmatic producer's eponymous debut album. It's an album full of creative compositional seedlings – originally written, performed, and recorded by Stepney in the basement of his home in Chicago, between the late 1960s and early 1970s, using just primitive drum machines, early-gen Moog synthesizers, pianos, vibraphones, and a few other instrumental accessories.


Pack Shot