Smut - How the Light Felt | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Soft Engine
2. After Silver Leaves
3. Let Me Hate
4. Believe You Me
5. Supersolar
6. Janeway
7. How the Light Felt
8. Person of Interest
9. Morningstar
10. Unbroken Thought

More Info:

Smut shines a spotlight on the sounds of the 90s across genres – a record scratch, a spacey synthline, a breakcore beat – all while maintaining freshness and originality. The collaborative project of vocalist Tay Roebuck, guitarist Andrew Min, bassist and synth - player Bell Cenower, guitarist and synth-player Sam Ruschman and drummer Aidan O’Connor, Smut have conquered national tours with Bully, Swirlies, Nothing, and WAVVES. Based in Chicago, IL, the band hits their stride in How the Light Felt. It is an exercise in coping, an electrifying statement of hope in the thick of resounding loss, and a love letter to the people that keep us going. With their powers combined, Smut meld the songwriting sensibilities of Oasis with the vocal delivery of the Cocteau Twins – the percussive grooves of Gorillaz with the sensuality of Massive Attack. An electric current of hope led by Tay Roebuck's powerful, femme vocals, Smut puts on a live show that is not to be missed.


Pack Shot