Niecy Blues - Exit Simulation | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Track 1
2. 1111
3. Track 3
4. the Nite B4
5. Track 5
6. U Care
7. Track 7
8. Violently Rooted
9. Track 9
10. Exit Simulation
11. Track 11
12. Exits
13. Track 13
14. Soma
15. Track 15
16. Messages from Above
17. Track 17
18. Lament
19. 1
20. Violently Rooted Reprise
21. 1
22. the Architect
23. 1
24. Analysis Paralysis
25. 1
26. Cascade

More Info:

South Carolina singer and producer Niecy Blues describes her songwriting process like an undertow: "I feel a strange pull, and let it carry me, following swirling leaves... whole days roll by, forgetting about the body." Their full-length debut, Exit Simulation, captures this sense of deep-rooted divination, cycling between simmering ballads, ghosted R&B, downtempo gospel, and looped vocal improvisations-often within the same track. The title is taken from a science fiction novel she read during the purgatory of the pandemic, alluding to a dimensional ideation of departure-"the permission to imagine leaving." Recorded in her current home of Charleston, she characterizes the album's mood in terms both reflective and raw: an exploration of things suppressed, foundations beginning to crack, "talking myself off a ledge." The music of Niecy Blues transposes reverie and reckoning into emotive devotionals of keys, guitar, bass, synth, and bewitched voice, steeped in sacred atmospheres gleaned from a youth spent in a religious Oklahoma household: "My first experience with ambient music was church-slow songs of worship, with delay on the guitar... even if you don't believe, you feel something."