Schoenberg / Krenek / Canino - 20th-Century Middle European Flute Music | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Suite for Flute and Piano, Op. 147 [06:21]
2. Ztracené Serenády [04:52]
3. Guernica [04:32]
4. I. Schwungvoll [11:44]
5. II. Anmutig und heiter: Scherzando [11:02]
6. III. Etwas langsam [09:58]
7. IV. Rondo [12:03]

More Info:

These four central-European composers share a history of persecution and emigration but survived the worst excesses of the time. Their works for flute and piano reflect very different aesthetic positions. Schoenberg's uncompromising Sonata for Flute and Piano is an arrangement of his Wind Quintet, Op. 26 of 1923-24 made a few years later by the Austrian composer Felix Greissle. The Suite by Ernst Krenek is delightfully neo-Classical, whilst the Czech Emil Burian crafted an eloquent, light-hearted work, heard here in it's first recording. Paul Dessau's Guernica was written for piano in 1937 and memorialises the tragedy of that bombed city.