Darkthrone - Blaze In A Northern Sky [Import] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Blaze In A Northern Sky [Import]
Artist: Darkthrone
Format: Vinyl


Catalog: VILELP28
Rel. Date: 06/17/2022
UPC: 801056802811

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Black Stone Wielder [07:34]
2. Under the Oak [06:52]
3. A Sorcerer's Pledge [08:20]
4. Warchild (Witchcraft Demo, Jan '85) [03:34]
5. Crystal Ball (Witchcraft Demo, Jan '85) [04:51]
6. A Sorcerer's Pledge (Witchcraft Demo, Jan '85) [07:26]
7. Into the Unfathomed Tower (Witchcraft Demo, Jan '85) [03:02]
8. Black Stone Wielder (O.A.L. Studio Demo, Dec '85) [07:24]
9. Demon's Gate (O.A.L. Studio Demo, Dec '85) [08:05]
10. Demon's Gate - V1 (Upplands Vasby Rehearsal, Nov '85) [07:58]
11. Under the Oak - V1 (Upplands Vasby Rehearsal, Nov '85) [06:24]
12. Under the Oak - V2 (Upplands Vasby Rehearsal, Nov '85, Alternate Version) [06:17]
13. Black Stone Wielder (Upplands Vasby Rehearsal, Nov '85) [02:28]
14. Demon's Gate - V2 (Upplands Vasby Rehearsal, Nov '85, Alternate Version) [07:59]
15. Under the Oak - V3 (Upplands Vasby Rehearsal, Nov '85, Alternate Version 2) [06:09]

More Info:

Special Triple Deluxe Coloured Vinyl Set Commemorating 35 Years Of The Iconic Debut Of Masterful Doom Metal, Containing Remastered Audio, Plus Rare Pre-Epicus Recordings From 1985 Including The Legendary 'Witchcraft' Demo. Also Includes 8 Page Booklet, A2 Poster, & Letter Print From Founder Leif Edling. Candlemass was formed by bassist and songwriter Leif Edling in Stockholm, Sweden in 1984, and is well known for it's epic doom metal, having a great influence over a generation of the genre's subsequent greats - Candlemass themselves taking a large influence from Black Sabbath. 'Epicus Doomicus Metallicus' is a true genre classic, with every track a monument of timeless and finely crafted Doom. This is one of the quintessential, definitive Doom Metal releases, immortalising the band in the annals of music history & creating the foundations of a legacy spanning over thirty-five years. Going against the grain of bands at the time using speed to bolster their metal with the ongoing rise of thrash in Europe and the US, Candlemass eschewed this direction, and formed a phenomenon of their own through the latter part of the decade and beyond with their slow & spellbinding atmospherics. 'Epicus...' was recorded at Thunderload Studios in 1986 and was released later that same year, with the grand and inspiring vocals for the debut handled by Johan Längqvist. Now, marking 35 years of the iconic debut, this deluxe triple vinyl release includes a new remastered version of the album itself, as well as a collection of Candlemass' essential 1985 recordings made on the run up to the 'Epicus...' session, in the form of the 'Witchcraft' demo plus the OAL studio recordings, & completed by the band's Upplands Väsby rehearsal from November of 1985. Each vinyl is presented with it's own sleeve, with the 'Epicus Doomicus Metallicus' LP containing a layout closely reflecting the original edition, with images used on it's initial pressings. The set also includes an 8 page 12" booklet with images from the era and accompanying text, plus A2 poster, as well as a handwritten letter print from founder Leif Edling.