Mira Calix - Absent Origin [2LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. a mark of resistance
2. there is always a girl with a secret
3. silence is silver
4. bower of bliss
5. wooddrifts
6. nkosezane -for my daddy
7. like Jenga (only it reaches all the way to the sky and it’s made of knives)
8. doggerland (between the acts)
9. fundamental things
10. fractions fractured factions
11. i’m in love with the end
12. surrender
13. GARGLE (command V)
14. dishàng shuăng (edit)
15. transport me
16. an infinite thrum (archipelago)
17. the abandoned colony collapsed my world

More Info:

absent origin is the latest album to be announced today by multi-disciplinary artist Mira Calix via Warp Records on 5 November 2021. 'Like Duchamp, I had started out wanting to, 'make an album, or box, of approximately all the things I produced'. In the end, I realised - as much as a collage is the coupling of two or more realities, it also offers the means to examine the materials and culture of an era, questioning and expanding its borders.' Mira Calix Every song on the album was created by applying a different collage process relating to a different visual artist, spanning the history of collage to contemporaries of the practice. The sonic materials are subjected to a myriad of processes; layered, synthesised, constructed and assembled into electronic melodies, textures and complex, frisky dance rhythms that are constantly shifting in surprising ways. absent origin employs collage to make sense of the current moment of displaced voices, disjunction and political unrest.