Angelique Kidjo - Africa Sings | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Africa Sings
Artist: Angelique Kidjo
Format: CD


Label: Orange Mountain
Rel. Date: 11/04/2022
UPC: 801837015522

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Senye
2. Three Ifc Songs
3. No. 1, Olodmare
4. No. 2, Yemandja
5. No. 3, Oshumare
6. Black, Brown, and Beige
7. Black
8. Brown
9. Beige
10. Symphonische Gesänge, Op. 20
11. I. Song from Dixieland
12. II. Song of the Cotton Picker
13. III. Dead Brown Girl
14. IV. Bad Man
15. V. Disillusion
16. VI. African Dance
17. VII. Arabesque

More Info:

Africa Sings is a probing celebration into African music, through classical music and jazz, through legacy and tradition. The recital begins with Angélique Kidjo singing Bella Bellow's Senye, segueing into the premiere recording of Philip Glass's orchestral song-cycle Three Ifé Songs, composed for Kidjo in 2014. The focus goes then to American music with Duke Ellington's Black, Brown and Beige in Maurice Peress orchestral arrangement, before shifting to Europe and Alexander Zemlinsky's Symphonic Songs sung by Martin Achrainer which set, in translation into German, the poems of the great Harlem Renaissance poets Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Countee Cullen, and Frank Horne. Kidjo joins the venerable Bruckner Orchester Linz and conductor Dennis Russell Davies who cruise through the Ellington before digging deep into the Zemlinsky with baritone Martin Achrainer in tour-de-force performances from beginning to end.