Shovels & Rope - O' Be Joyful - 10th Anniversary Edition [Limited Edition] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Birmingham
2. Keeper
3. O' Be Joyful
4. Hail Hail
5. Lay Low
6. Kemba's Got the Cabbage Moth Blues
7. Tickin' Bomb
8. Carnival
9. Shank Hill St
10. Cavalier
11. This Means War
12. Birmingham (Live)
13. Keeper (Live)
14. O' Be Joyful (Live)
15. Hail Hail (Live)
16. Lay Low (Live)
17. Kemba's Got the Cabbage Moth Blues (Live)
18. Tickin' Bomb (Live)
19. Carnival (Live)
20. Shank Hill St. (Live)
21. Cavalier (Live)
22. This Means War (Live)

More Info:

Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing. Raw and imagined, effortless and insightful, Shovel & Rope's panoramic songwriting and raucous performances drive the newest release O' Be Joyful. Recorded in the twosome's house, backyard and van, as well as various motel rooms across America, the 11-song set offers a compelling encapsulation of Hearst and Trent's unique approach, channeling their creative chemistry. The band recorded much of O' Be Joyful at home in 2011 during the rare downtime between touring jaunts. Additional tracking took place during their travels. While Cary Ann Hearst and Michael Trent are both songwriters individually, O' Be Joyful finds them still discovering new strengths as a collaborative unit. "The songs on this album," Michael points out, "are the most we've ever written together. Many of them were birthed on the road. One of us would come up with a verse and say, 'I'm gonna drive for awhile, why don't you try to put a chorus on this?' And then we'd switch... kind of like our shows."