The Coathangers - Live [LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Watch Your Back
2. Follow Me
3. Smother
4. Arthritis Sux
5. Captain's Dead
6. Burn Me
7. Make It Right
8. Springfield Cannonball
9. Hurricane 1
10. Adderall 1
11. Tonya Harding 1
12. Gettin' Mad and Pumpin' Iron 1
13. Shut Up 1
14. Squeeki Tiki

More Info:

In their thirteen years of existence, Atlanta's garage punks The Coathangers have cranked out five full-lengths and over a dozen singles, splits, and EPs. And while every Coathangers record has captured their buoyant turbulence and jagged euphoria, there's always some degree of magic that gets lost when bands go into the studio. Whatever the source of that magic, The Coathangers have always wrangled a replication of that sweaty and sticky live feeling, but the time had come to properly document it. LIVE captures the playful fervor of The Coathangers at their finest. Says guitarist/vocalist Julia Kugel, "it's like our antholog... our entire career in 38 minutes," from the slow-burn pop of "Captainís Dead" off last year's Parasite EP to the rabblerousing rocker "Tonya Harding" off their self-titled debut. "Gettin' Mad and Pumpin' Iron" sounds more unhinged here than when it first appeared on Scramble in 2009. Favorites like "Adderall" sound increasingly ragged and desperate as drummer Stephanie Luke belts out the lyrics on an adrenaline rush. Recent songs like bassist Meredith Franco's Nosebleed Weekend highlight "Burn Me" feel injected with an urgency that pushes the post-punk number into an unruly anthem. The magic of The Coathangers lives in LIVE.