Kyle Aho - Rituals | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Artist: Kyle Aho
Format: CD


Label: OA2
Rel. Date: 08/19/2022
UPC: 805552220520

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Awaken (Overture)
2. Like a Stream
3. No Words
4. Rituals
5. Be Still (Prelude)
6. Be Still
7. Belonging
8. A Night in the Woods
9. God
10. Between Wand and Welt
11. Between Wand and Welt
12. The Well
13. Fragment
14. Theoria
15. God (Reprise)

More Info:

... a brave harmonic and spatial improviser... (he) views the piano as an orchestra full of surprises... if he were a painter we would marvel at his blending of 'abstract' and 'representational'... (his music is) emotional and intellection... joyous in it's creativity. - Michael Steinman. Nine poems and phrases are the heart of this wide-ranging project by composer/pianist Kyle Aho for his Missouri-based jazz quintet, along with vocalist Christin Bohrisch. Selecting poetry & text that underscore the artist's struggle for transcendence through creativity, Aho's search over the last decade revealed works from ancient voices such as Mayadeviyaka & Symeon, poems from Walt Whitman & Franz Kafka, and three of his own mother's works (Margaret Aho). The longing resonating from the texts connected with Aho, much as the music of John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter, and Keith Jarrett. With short solo piano and instrumental pieces creating a sense of balance, flow, and discovery, the poems set to Aho's compositions express a yearning for communion and spirituality, for an existence beyond the physical. "Aho is one of the most intelligent, perceptive, and skilled musicians I have ever come across." - Bob Brookmeyer