Hal Galper - Invitation To Openness: Live At Big Twig | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Invitation To Openness: Live At Big Twig
Artist: Hal Galper
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 03/18/2022
UPC: 805558284328

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

Pianist Hal Galper disbanded his Ahmad Jamal-inspired trio in 2000 after a productive decade of steady touring and recording. Returning to 'the shed' for several years to work on concepts, teach and write, he came to realize that a rubato approach to time and movement-a concept he was first exposed to with Sam Rivers in the early '60s-was where he was being led. With bassist Tony Moreno & drummer Billy Mintz, Galper found able & willing partners to explore new territories in 2005, recording "Agents of Change" in 2006. The trio was the first stone cast in that direction for the eclectic pianist, a remarkable late career modernization that ushered in one of the most significant innovations in the art of the trio since Bill Evans' conception of equal partnership in the early '60s. This trio was a foray into a more melodic and beauty focused approach to rubato, before the more explosive and wide-roaming version portrayed by Galper's last touring trio of 2007-2019, with bassist Jeff Johnson and drummer John Bishop. "Invitation to Openness" was a brief return to the original rubato trio with Moreno & Mintz, recorded in 2008, live in upstate New York. This indomitable period of innovation, that so remarkably occurred a half century into his career, was enabled by his trio association with Marino and Mintz, so beautifully portrayed by the tracks contained within.