Orenstein, Michael - APERTURE | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Opposite World
2. Not Today
3. Slow Coffee
4. Giant Steps
5. Sharing the Mirror
6. Eye of the One Fingered Sorcerer
7. Medley: Eye of the Hurricane / the Sorcerer
8. Rabid Realtors
9. Ode to Manuel
10. Reminder
11. To Come Full Triangle

More Info:

... extraordinary talent... a wonderful accompanist and soloist. - Eddie Henderson. Los Angeles-based pianist/composer/arranger Michael Orenstein comes to his debut recording with a stout jazz education pedigree and ten years of topflight performance experiences, all shining through on this robust set of 8 originals & intricate arrangements of "Giant Steps" and a Herbie Hancock tribute. Much like two major influences, Hancock & Billy Childs, Orenstein's arrangements are surprising and dynamic with an expansive sound palette, challenging any limitations of the jazz quartet. Orenstein's "Aperture" focuses light on a prodigious young talent with a doubtlessly promising future. "... one of the most talented and creative young musicians I have ever heard." - Dan Wall