Metropolitan Jazz Octet, Featuring Paul Marinaro - Bowie Project | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Slow Burn
2. The Angels Have Gone
3. Changes
4. Letter to Hermione
5. Space Oddity
6. Let's Dance
7. Stay
8. Quicksand
9. I Would Be Your Slave
10. Conversation Piece
11. Life on Mars?

More Info:

When you can listen to the iconic Space Oddity" and hear it anew - without a trace of irony - you know this project has met it's goal." Neil Tesser. Chicago's Metropolitan Jazz Octet partners with the acclaimed vocalist Paul Marinaro to create an inspired tribute to the durability and pure magic of David Bowie's songwriting legacy. Reinterpreting without replicating, due in no small part to Marinaro's riveting vocals paired with creative arrangements, the octet palette reveals transparency and intimacy, coaxing nuanced colors more indicative of a larger orchestra, laying out an inventive complement to Bowie's lyrics. The MJO was originally founded in the '50s by saxophonist/arranger Tom Hilliard and documented first in 1959's "The Legend of Bix," on Argo Records. It's re-awakening in 2014 by Hilliard's former student, Jim Gailloreto, extends the rich legacy of Hilliard's library of compositions and devotion to this elegant chamber ensemble.