Pia Isa - Distorted Chants (Can) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Statistics
2. Quiet Beach
3. Follow the Sun
4. Sleepless
5. A Hopeful Reminder
6. Mantra
7. Trauma
8. No Straight Line
9. Every Tree
10. Velvet Dreams

More Info:

Pia Isa is the solo project of bassist/vocalist Pia Isaksen from Norwegian heavy psych/doom band Superlynx. She is now gearing up for the release of her debut solo album, Distorted Chants, which features Ole Teigen (Superlynx etc) on drums and a guest apperance by guitarist Gary Arce (Yawning Man, Big Scenic Nowhere etc.) on three of the songs. Having played and written music for most of her life a solo album has been brewing in Pia's mind for a long time. Finally everything has aligned for her first one to materialize, and Distorted Chants was recorded early 2021. As much as she loves playing with Superlynx (formed 2013) and other people her ideas for this album seemed more right to work through on her own. Pia's music is rooted in slow heavy drones but also has a lighter, dreamy and hopeful side. She is inspired by massive soundscapes, heavy psych, meditative moods, desert vibes and eastern scales as well as her nordic coastal surroundings. Superlynx listeners may recognize her slow, heavy, minimalistic riffs and haunting sometimes chanting voice. Pia has an open mind to a lot of different music. Not caring about fitting to any genres but channeling honest and heartfelt music in her own way. The lyrics on Distorted Chants are deeply personal and stretches from the very inner self and throughout nature.