Half Japanese - Volume 3: 1990-195 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Volume 3: 1990-195
Artist: Half Japanese
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 04/18/2015
UPC: 809236134417

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Every Hour
2. Elevator Boy
3. Gloria
4. Ear
5. The Titanic
6. Our Eyes
7. Spin
8. Up And Down
9. Run
10. All Of Me
11. Hand Without A Body
12. Going Home
13. Three Rings
14. How Did You Know?
15. Then We Walk
16. Secret
17. Best
18. The House I Live In
19. Shanty Town
20. Everything Is Right
21. U.F.O Expert
22. Tears Stupid Tears
23. Always
24. This Could Be The Night
25. Possum Head
26. Frosty
27. Turn Your Life Around
28. I Love A Mystery
29. 12 Houses
30. Hangar 18
31. Magic Kingdom
32. It's No Wonder
33. Fire In The Sky
34. Good Luck
35. Gates Of Glory
36. Everyone Knows
37. I Heard Her Call My Name
38. Eye Of The Hurricane
39. It's A Clear Night
40. Drum Straight
41. True Believers
42. Well
43. Dark Night
44. Part Of My Plan
45. Vampire
46. Lucky Ones
47. Vast Continent
48. Guess Again
49. Black Fruit
50. Sleep Talk
51. Smile
52. Lucky Town

More Info:

Formed in the mid-70s, and setting the standard for post-punk ever since, Jad and David Fair and Half Japanese return with a new volume that finds us twenty years into their story. The 90s would see them under a new spotlight as Kurt Cobain used his celebrity to tell anyone that would listen about their greatness, and had the band tour with Nirvana. They would respond with three of the most wild and varied albums in their career.  Continuing their Fire deluxe reissues of the entire Half Japanese catalogue, Volume Three: 1990-1995 is the third of four volumes containing three LPs/CDs.This next set of Half Japanese LPs begins with 1990’s explosively, noisy and chaotic (sometimes improvised) ‘We Are They Who Ache With Amorous Love’ featuring their cover of the Them garage rock classic “Gloria” and two tracks “Titanic" and "Hand Without a Body” that were co-written with the like-minded Daniel Johnston. Two years later the notably more delicate and, dare we say, jangly, ‘Fire In The Sky’ (1992) arrived at a pivotal time for the group when they gained notable recognition from the likes of Sonic Youth, Nirvana, Teenage Fanclub and Yo La Tengo (whose Ira Kaplan guests on the record). This highly anticipated third installation closes the trio with 1995’s ‘Hot’ which became MTVs album of the week on release, with Michael Goldbery writing “Hot, mixes Sonic Youth-style noise, Stooges primitivism and ’60s pop with excellent results. “Lucky Ones” is a simply charming number (“A good thing just got better/ As better as better can be”) reminiscent of Jonathan Richman, while “Drum Straight” is dose of feedback drenched skonk and “Vampire” rocks hard liken the Sonic’s “Bull In The Heather.” Fire’s colossal Half Japanese series began last year with the Record Store Day exclusive of ‘Half Gentleman/Not Beasts’, this set contains the records in their original form with extras that later appeared on CD formats available. It will also include original artwork from Jad Fair and liner notes by Half Japanese hall of famer Mark David Jickling.